2020 has been an explosive year so far. Just as we were coming down from the festive high, still hanging on to our New Year’s Resolutions the coronavirus hit. People began shopping local for safety and due to burgeoning sense of loyalty to businesses that were local and/or small.  Then social unrest and protests began in pursuit of justice and equality for black lives, triggered by the murder of George Floyd in Minneapolis. Many of us posted our black squares in solidarity on Black Out Tuesday.  Now what? As protests rage on Black Pound Day was launched. It’s an initiative spearheaded by Swiss World (Music Artist/DJ So Solid Crew) carded for 27th June 2020. Whether you want to shop on the day or extend your arsenal of go to brands; here’s a list of 64 Black owned UK brands that every mother should know.

 

 

 

Black-owned Fashion & Accessories Brands

 

  A list of fashion, footwear and accessories that are African and Caribbean inspired. Expect bold prints, vibrant colours as well as contemporary designs suitable for work or play.

 

Name Type Instagram Link
ATM Collections Clothing https://www.instagram.com/atmkollectionz/
Crown Rose Clothing https://www.instagram.com/crownroseuk/
Fashion Forest London Clothing https://www.instagram.com/fashionforestldn/
Gitas Portal Clothing https://www.instagram.com/gitasportal/
Grace Amber Rose Accessories https://www.instagram.com/bygraceambrose/
Hannah Pratt Clothing Clothing https://www.instagram.com/hannahprattclothing/
L’aviye Clothing https://www.instagram.com/laviye/
Nique Forde (Thro’backs) Foot Wear https://www.instagram.com/niquefordepresents/
Nubian Skin Lingerie https://www.instagram.com/niquefordepresents/
Nuwe Boutique Fashion https://www.instagram.com/niquefordepresents/
Rare Culture London Accessories https://www.instagram.com/rareculturelondon/
Teah Wilson Design Store Fashion https://www.instagram.com/the_twds/
TMBoutique Accessories https://www.instagram.com/tmboutique_tnt/
Valeri Christina Accessories https://www.instagram.com/valeri_christina/
     
Accra

Black-Owned Food and Drink Catering Brands

 

Be the hostess with the mostess with these food caterers and drinks makers. Don’t break a sweat order in,  savoury or sweet treats,  alcoholic or virgin mixes.

 

Name Type Instagram
Dimple Boy Cakes Baking https://www.instagram.com/dimpleboycupcakes/
Rebelz Drinks https://www.instagram.com/_rebelzltd_/
Skinny Cook Ready Meals https://www.instagram.com/skinnycookinc/
Dimple Boy22 Baking https://www.instagram.com/borough22/
Roti Masters Street Food https://www.instagram.com/roti_masters/
Sugar Puf London Baking https://www.instagram.com/sugarpuflondon/
Paint and Punch Drinks & Event https://www.instagram.com/paintandpunch/
Rum Remedy Drinks https://www.instagram.com/rumremedy_/
Windrush Bay Food Subscription Box https://www.windrushbay.com/ 
no makeup

Black-Owned Hair Skin and Body  Brands

 

Can you every have enough products? Personally, I say not. It’s treat to have a little something in store to fit your mood. Searching for good skincare and

, a day spa for me time? Look no further.

 

Name  Type Instagram
Afrocenchix  Haircare https://www.instagram.com/afrocenchix/
Anita Grant  Bath Hair Body https://www.instagram.com/anitagrant/
Bourn Beautiful Haircare https://www.instagram.com/bbnaturalsuk/
Butterfly Bliss Bath Hair Body https://www.instagram.com/butterflyybliss/
Curly by Nature Haircare https://www.instagram.com/curlybyn/
Flora & Curl Haircare https://www.instagram.com/floracurl/
Gina Knight Wig Design Wigs https://www.instagram.com/ginaknightwigdesign/
Liha Beauty Skincare https://www.instagram.com/lihabeauty/
Natural Barnet Haircare https://www.instagram.com/naturalbarnet/
Olive Shea Haircare https://www.instagram.com/olivesheacoco/
Primal Beauty Haircare https://www.instagram.com/primalbeautynatural/
Queen Esther Spa Day Sap https://www.instagram.com/queenestherspa/
Shea Butter Cottage Bath Body Hair https://www.instagram.com/sheabuttercottage/
SSB Naturals Bath Body Hair https://www.instagram.com/ssbnaturals/
Wildseed Skincare https://www.instagram.com/wildseedbotanicals/
mimi_et_mina Hair Extensions https://www.instagram.com/mimi_et_mina/
     
     
home furnishings

Black-Owned Interior Decor & Home Furnishings Brands

 

You home is your castle as the saying goes. Sometimes you want something different and special for certain room or as a house warming pressie, the brands below will take you from Easter to Christmas.

 

Name  Type Instagram
Bespoke Bennie Bespoke Furnishings https://www.instagram.com/bespokebinny/
Black Belle Prints Home Wares https://www.instagram.com/blackbelleprints/
D_N_A Designs Soft Furnishings https://www.instagram.com/d_n_a_design/
Donald Baugh Bespoke Furniture https://www.instagram.com/donaldbaugh/
March Muses Christmas Decorations https://www.instagram.com/marchmuses/
MK Interiors Furnishings & Interior Decor Designs https://www.mkkidsinteriors.com/kids-interiors-shop/
Stacy Ann Cole Artwork https://www.instagram.com/sacoleart/
Checie Girl Artwork https://www.instagram.com/checiegirl_creations/
very very puzzled

Black-owned Children’s Toys & Books Brands

 

Finding quality diverse children’s toys and accessories is challenge. I know. In 2020, find black doll or book with multicultural characters takes hours to find. The list is not exhaustive but you are highly likely to find what you are looking from one of the brands below.

 

Name Type Instagram
Cherish Me Stationery https://www.instagram.com/cherishme_uk/
Clarkes Closet Dolls & Accessories https://www.instagram.com/clarkescloset/
Green Bean Collection Books & Plushies https://www.instagram.com/greenbeancollection/
Muffin Sister Nursery & Home Decor https://www.instagram.com/muffin_sisters/
Nia Ballerina Dolls & Accessories https://www.instagram.com/nia.ballerina/
Nhya Grahpics Greeting Cards & Stationery https://www.instagram.com/nyha_graphics/
Post Book’d Book Subscription Box https://www.instagram.com/post_bookd/
Soul Cap Swim Cap https://www.instagram.com/soulcapofficial/
Very Very Puzzled Puzzles & Maps https://www.instagram.com/veryverypuzzled/
Zuree Dolls Dolls & Accessories https://www.instagram.com/zureedolls/

 

Momineral Makeup

Black-Owned Cosmetic Brands

 

I’m no makeup guru but my bugbear when looking for making is being faced with the usual pinks, reds, corals and nudes that not quite nude. If you luv vibrancy and sparkle as much as I do, I’ve got a few treats for your below, as well as nudes that are fit for any black beauty queen.

 

Name Type Instagram
Afunkie Makeup https://www.instagram.com/afunkie/
Brysocrema Makeup https://www.instagram.com/brysocrema/
Eloise Beauty Makeup https://www.instagram.com/eloisebeauty/
MDM Flow Makeup https://www.instagram.com/mdmflow/
Momineral Makeup & Skincare https://www.instagram.com/momineralmakeup/
Mudd Beauty Makeup https://www.instagram.com/muddbeauty/
V Lace Makeup https://www.instagram.com/v.laceworld/
     

 

In conclusion

 

The lists above are not exhaustive. I some brands I have used myself. If you follow me on Instagram you will know which one; other I found from the via blogger recommendations, UK Black Business Show, Jane’s List  and Sow-Full  pages.

Have you heard about Black Pound Day? Will you be shopping on the day? I hope you find the list helpful. If you do, please share it to your family and friends who will also find it helpful.

If you know of a Black-owned brand that would be useful to mums, leave their details in the comment box below.

 

 

 

Feature Image from Nappy Via Pexel.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

IOW

Subscribe To Our Newsletter for the latest info and offers!

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news, updates and offers!

Thank you - WELCOME ABOARD!